Thursday, March 3, 2011


The inert materials which are used in concrete is called aggregates.Such as sand,pebbles,cinder, gravel etc.But aggregates are not always inert. Recent study shows that the chemical and thermal properties of aggregates influence the quality of concrete.

Kinds of aggregates

Two kinds.

1.Fine aggregates:The aggregates which are smaller than 3/16 inch or 4.76 mm is called fine aggregates. Sand is the common fine aggregate.

2.Coarse aggregates:The aggregate which are bigger than 3/16 inch or 4.76 mm is called coarse aggregate. Broken brick,pebbles,gravel etc are coarse aggregates.

No comments:

Post a Comment